Why Am I on Pinterest?

the golden pin

Because of the explosive growth of Pinterest – the social media platform that allows users to create and share visual collections of interests from nearly any HTML site – I’m often asked in my social media consultations, “Should I be pinning?” or “What do I do now that I’m on Pinterest?”

Lemme tell ya kids, if you are asking me why you should be on a social media platform, maybe you don’t need to be on that platform! 

You might think I’m full of the proverbial hooey when I tell you that you should reconsider having a presence on Pinterest because of the online-mediaverse-shattering statistics surrounding it. Fancypants numbers like:

  • In a period of 6 months, Pinterest grew 4000%! FOUR. THOUSAND. That’s at least 3x the growth of Facebook in its heyday!
  • 80% of referrals to websites come from Pinterest – more than Twitter, Linkedin & Facebook combined.

*A quick aside from Marissa – I really wish that I had favorited the tweet I posted a year ago, when Pinterest was in beta, wherein I made a 140-character prediction that the platform would be the next big thing in social media. Then I could find it easier, make a screen shot of that tweet, and make it the image of this blog post with the caption simply reading, “called it.”. Alas that tweet was over 3200 tweets ago, so you’re just going to have to believe me when I say I told ya so.*

So the numbers appeal to you, and you want to get on the pinning bandwagon.

If you’re considering creating an organizational presence on Pinterest, ask yourself a few questions first.

Question #1 –  Is your audience on Pinterest?

The general pinning audience** is:

  • Females between the ages of 25 – 54
  • Have an income between $25,000 – $75,000
  • Are visually stimulated & like “collecting”

Stats collected from ComScore – except for that last one, that last stat was all me and my keen powers of observation.

**It should be noted that these stats reflect American trends. In the UK your average pinner is male.

Question #2 – Is your site or your content ‘pin-able’?

Do you post pictures worth a thousand words on your site? Can you get your point across with a picture? Do you make your content easy to share?

Feel free to post this to your favorite pinterest board.

Question #3 – How will you change your current communications plan to accommodate the Pinterest platform? 

The rise of Pinterest definitely changes the digital communication game. Its rapid growth is proof of how visually-driven digital consumers are. Does this mean digital producers should create more visually stimulating content?

*cough*yes*cough* A smart digital marketer or blogger would change the format of their posts to accommodate this pin-nomenon (hehehe). They would make their content graphic-rich and add the Pinterest button to their posts.

So to answer your question – finally - yeah, get on Pinterest if you can visually socialize with your intended audience (did someone say infographic?). If not, then, no.

Glad we had this talk.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

